Sanctuary Records ha confirmado a BlabberMouth.net el lanzamiento el 23 de Mayo de «Tyranny Of Souls», el nuevo disco de Bruce Dickinson [wiki]. De buenas a primeras, al parecer la portada será una imagen tomada de un cuadro del pintor flamenco Hans Memling, seguramente uno de los que se pueden ver en los foros de MaidenFans.com. Para los que no quieran molestarse en leer la noticia en Blabbermouth.net:

Sanctuary Records has set a May 24 U.S. release date (one day earlier internationally) for the new solo album from IRON MAIDEN frontman Bruce Dickinson, entitled «Tyranny of Souls».

Dickinson is an artist who has influenced thousands of singers, musicians and fans alike in his outstanding role as the front man of legendary band IRON MAIDEN. He has achieved great success as a solo artist, and is also acclaimed as a radio DJ, TV presenter, pilot, author and voice of modern music.

It has been seven years since Dickinson released his last solo album, «The Chemical Wedding», which received massive critical acclaim while exploring intriguing and dark themes. The intervening years have seen him make a highly successful return to IRON MAIDEN, with two huge albums and record-breaking live shows and tours.

«Tyranny Of Souls», Bruce‘s new solo venture, sees him return once again to collaborate with guitarist/producer/writer Roy Z. The album’s cover is adorned with a 15th century depiction of hell by Hans Hemling and the music continues along this path to explore dark, apocalyptic themes. Delving into science, theology and of course, his love of flight, with thought provoking, intelligent and menacing lyrics that are sure to leave the listener’s mind unsettled, «Tyranny Of Souls» is pure Dickinson. Heavy riff-laden songs and explosive virtuoso guitar work from Roy joined with the definitive Dickinson soaring vocals, makes this ground breaking album a tour de force of modern metal.

It was following on from the end of the last MAIDEN tour that Bruce saw an opportunity to work alongside Roy again.

«With MAIDEN, once the band has finished up on the tours, we all tend to go our separate ways and do our own thing for a while until it’s time to saddle up again for the next album,» Dickinson explained. «I knew I could seize the chance to work with Roy in between his work on the new JUDAS PRIEST album. We both work quickly together which I like and the recording is very organic so it came together quite easily. I’m very proud of it.»

«Tyranny of Souls» track listing:

01. Mars Within (Intro)
02. Abduction
03. Soul Intruders
04. Kill Devil Hill
05. Navigate the Seas of the Sun
06. River of No Return
07. Power of the Sun
08. Devil on a Hog
09. Believil
10. A Tyranny of Souls